The Vogeler

It's All About Technology

Google Reader + Stumble = Awesomeness November 21, 2009

Filed under: Assignment — kvogel21 @ 10:06 pm

Ever since I knew about Google Reader it has simplified the way in which I read the news. Before knowing about this technology I would wander aimlessly on the internet going painstakingly to specific sites to find information – oftentimes only one or two I would actually have time to read. Now I happily sift through my selected subscriptions and let the world come to me. It is a great informational and sharing tool which I now use on a daily basis.

In anticipation for this next week though (as a discussion leader) I found a similar social networking/sharing tool on the web which helps to sift information for us to read/view and then easily share with others. This led me to stumbleupon.

Why use StumbleUpon?

According to their about page Stumbleupon “filters through vast amount[s] of information on the web to direct Stumblers to high quality web sites which are relevant to their personal interests.” This is helpful for anyone that wants to be stumbling on the internet just browsing for interesting content that is both rated high by other users and relates to your own personal interests.

Advantages/Disadantages of Stumbling vs. Searching

Searching using Google or Yahoo are a couple ways to find information and are great for those that know exactly what they want to find. Specificity is great for these search tools. What is difficult about searching though is that you have to know what you want. Stumbling resolves this issue. What is awesome about Stumbling is that you can just run into things that you never knew were out there (let alone search for them).

How I describe Stumbleupon

If you like sites like Pandora radio for music I would say that stumbling is very similar to this format for video as well as artistic content.  For both sites they ask you for your preferences and provide you with content to suit those preferences. Both sites ask for thumbs or thumbs down to aid in their providing content. The difference obviously is that for Pandora you can just let it run like radio without having to push a stumble button. Other than that though they both provide a sifting stumbling like service for users who just want to be entertained by others content  that is similar to their interests.

More Information

If this blog entry has not already piqued your interest. Then here are some other articles written about this company that may give you more information.  Most recently the company founders sold it to Ebay for 75 Million big ones, but later bought it back.

This is exciting to many people who expect more features and additions to the community oriented and sharing website that they already use. Without big boy Ebay getting in the way perhaps the founders will give the people more of what they want… I am excited! – This is another way for me to find information Google Reader, Pandora, and now Stumbler. If you haven’t started stumbling, I would today.

Ebay Buys StumbleUpon

StumbleUpon Breaks Free from Ebay

8 Fun Sites I found “Stumbling”:

1) Invisible Man – http://www.stumbleupon.com/s/#1ltPoj/v1kram.posterous.com/liu-bolinthe-invisible-man/

 

One Response to “Google Reader + Stumble = Awesomeness”

  1. nvache Says:

    After your presentation yesterday, well actually during your presentation too, I visited stumbleupon for the first time to check it out. I think it is great and I “stumbled” or quite some time last night! It is funny because the first thing that it brought up was the Disney Desperate Housewives. I laughed so hard, and then that just made me want to stumble some more! I’m definitely going to use this site much more often! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

